The Jurong Region Line: A Comprehensive Guide to the Three-Stage Development and 24 Stations of Singapore’s Newest MRT Line

The Bukit Batok EC Jurong Region Line (JRL) is Singapore’s newest MRT line, set to open in three stages from 2026 to 2028. Spanning 24 stations across western Singapore, the JRL is designed to provide enhanced connectivity and accessibility to the Jurong Innovation District (JID), Tuas Port, and Jurong Lake District (JLD).

The first stage of the line will be operational by 2026, running from Choa Chu Kang to Boon Lay and looping up to Jurong Industrial Estate. This section of the line is expected to serve an estimated 400,000 commuters daily.

The second stage, scheduled to open in 2027, will extend the line to the western region of Singapore, connecting the towns of Tengah, Jurong West, and Jurong East. This section will be served by two additional stations, Tengah Plantation and Tengah Park.

The third and final stage of the line will open in 2028, connecting Jurong East to Tuas Link. This section will feature five additional stations – Gul Circle, Tuas West Road, Tuas Crescent, Tuas South, and Tuas Link.

The JRL will also feature two transfer stations, the Jurong East Integrated Transport Hub (ITH) and the Boon Lay Integrated Transport Hub (ITH). Commuters will be able to transfer between the various rail lines such as the East-West Line, North-South Line, and Downtown Line at the Jurong East ITH. The Boon Lay ITH will provide a convenient transfer between the JRL and the East-West Line.

In addition, the JRL will feature three new JCube Condo interchanges – Choa Chu Kang, Boon Lay, and Tengah – and one branch line, the Jurong East Branch Line (JEBL), which will run from Jurong East to JID. This branch line will serve commuters travelling to the JID and the future Tuas port.

The Jurong Region Line is set to revolutionize the way people travel within western Singapore, providing enhanced connectivity to the key employment and leisure areas of the west. With its three-stage development and 24 stations spread across the region, the JRL is sure to be a game-changer for Singapore’s public transportation system.

The Jurong Region Line (JRL) is Singapore’s newest Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) line, set to be completed in three stages by 2026. The 24-station line will span over 44 kilometres of track and will connect the major towns of the Western region with the Central Business District. This comprehensive guide provides an overview of the three-stage development, key features and station highlights of the Jurong Region Line.

The first stage of the line will connect Choa Chu Kang to Boon Lay, with the Choa Chu Kang, Tengah, Hong Kah North and Jurong West stations opening in 2026. The second stage will extend the line from Boon Lay to Pioneer, with the Joo Koon, Gul Circle, Tuas West Road and Tuas Link stations opening in 2027. The final stage will complete the line from Pioneer to Jurong Pier, with the Jurong Pier, Tukang, Gul Circle and Tuas South stations opening in 2028.

In addition to connecting the Western region to the city centre, the JRL will also link up with the North South Line, East West Line and Downtown Line, providing commuters with an enhanced and seamless travel experience. The line will also feature a new platform screen door system, the latest in safety and security technology, as well as an automated train control system, which allows for faster and smoother journeys.

The Jurong Region Line will also feature 24 unique stations, each with its own set of features and highlights. For instance, the Tengah station is located in the heart of the upcoming Tengah town, and will have a lush garden-like theme that incorporates elements of nature into the design. The Jurong Pier station will be the first underwater MRT station in Singapore, and will feature an underwater gallery for commuters to view aquatic life up close. The Tukang station will be the first in Singapore to feature an integrated mixed-use development, with retail and commercial spaces integrated into the station complex.

The Jurong Region Line is a major addition to Singapore’s public transport network and will provide much-needed connectivity between the Western region and the rest of the island. Its three-stage development and 24 unique stations are set to provide commuters with a seamless, efficient and comfortable journey.

Leave a Reply